Congratulations to Orrin Quinn, Ecotrust Canada’s FSC Program Manager, on being voted onto the Forest Stewardship Council® Canada Board of Directors. Orrin, who will serve as a Director in the Social Chamber of the Board, was also voted onto the Executive Committee and appointed Treasurer.

With Orrin’s assistance, Ecotrust Canada has become a leader at implementing FSC-certification for the manufacturing and forest management industries. Not only does the work Orrin and Ecotrust Canada do help speed up and cut the costs of the certification process, it spreads the word of responsible forest management. For more on our FSC certification services click here.

As a Director in the Social Chamber, Orrin will continue to raise awareness of the diverse social values that must be maintained under FSC and the potential areas for growth in the FSC market. His work fostering growth in the supply of FSC timber and making strategic market connections has already brought value to many of Ecotrust Canada’s FSC Group certification members.

Orrin will also continue to provide valuable guidance to FSC Canada in strategic business planning, finances and policies, with ongoing plans to mitigate many of the challenges to certification, such as high costs, overburden with documentation, and difficulties with interpretation of the standards.

As the globally recognized ‘gold standard’ of certification systems for forests and forest products, FSC provides forest managers with objective, performance-based standards – encompassing environmental, social and economic values – against which they are reviewed by third party auditors. We are proud to be playing our part in this vision and look forward to all that Orrin will learn from, and contribute to, the FSC Canada Board over the next two years.

We would also like to take this opportunity to congratulate all the other new Directors voted on this year. The 2011-2012 FSC Canada Board of Directors is as follows:

Aboriginal Peoples Chamber: Wade Cachagee; Bradley Young, National Aboriginal Forestry Association
Economic Chamber: Chris McDonell, Tembec Inc.; Henry Sauvagnat, Cascades Inc.
Environmental Chamber: John Cathro; Chris Henschel, Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society
Social Chamber: Valerie Courtois; Orrin Quinn, Ecotrust Canada